Seagrape Drive, San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize
011 (501) 226-3739 (direct) | 1 (866) 352-1163 (toll-free)
A celebration of Tourism Success – BTB’s 16th Annual National Tourism Awards
A celebration of Tourism Success – BTB’s 16th Annual National Tourism Awards

Industry Stakeholders from San Pedro, Ambergris Caye were once again top winners and stars in this year’s 16th Annual Belize Tourism Board National Tourism Awards. The Gala event which was well-attended by 300+ esteemed guests from all over the country, took center stage on Saturday, October 20th at Caribbean Motors in Belize City. Designed to honor and acknowledge industry partners in the Tourism Sector for their excellence in hospitality and service, the National awards is a major event that recognizes the year’s best tourism products, services, and employees in the industry.

Out of twenty awards given for the night, five went to businesses and individuals from Ambergris Caye. Below is a recap of the winner circle. The images are copyrighted as that of the Belize Tourism Board.

Snagging the top award for Hospitality was the Belize Chocolate factory, a chocolate making company which opened in 2012 and currently boasts two location in San Pedro and Caye Caulker.

Grand Caribe Beach Resort took the Tourism Award for Top Performing Hotels in Belize

The Private Island, Cayo Espanto won the tourism award for Small Accommodation of the year

President of the San Pedro Tour Guide Association, Billy Leslie, with the tourism award for Best Tour Guide Association of the Year

The Lodge at Chaa Creek, snagged the Award for Hotel of the Year

Chukka Belize Tours won the award for “Tour Operator of the Year” (Our on-site dive shop, Belize Pro Dive Center, was a nominee in this category)

Ian and Ella Anderson (Owners of Caves Branch Jungle Lodge) snagged the “Lifetime Achievement” Award for their unyielding dedication of the tourism sector.

Caves Branch, Carlos Hernandez snagged the “Tour Guide of the Year” Award

Nikita Young of Chabil Mar Resort won the top hospitality award for Front Line Person of the Year. (Our interim Front desk Manager, Miriam Salazar was a nominee in this category)

The Grove House by Chef Adan took the award for “Restaurant of the Year” (Our on-site restaurant, Pier 366 was a nominee for this category)

Ilsa Villanueva was recognized for her contributions as the “Minister’s Award” winner

Honorable mentions and recognition was also given to the participants on this year’s ‘Taste of the Caribbean”.

 As nominees and proud industry partners, we take this opportunity to congratulate all winners of the night and kudos to everyone who was nominated in this year’s National Tourism Awards.

Leave a Reply

Belize is the Perfect Honeymoon Destination
Getting Here
Where Is Belize Located?
A Belize Wedding